September 4, 2012

District 4 Candidates Snubbed by San Leandro City Council for Appointment

The San Leandro City Council eliminated half of the eight applicants for the appointment to the District 4 City Council seat to replace Joyce Starosciak at its meeting on Tuesday, September 4. None of the candidates in the November 6 election, Chris Crow, Darlene Daevu, or Benny Lee received a single vote. Neither did David Erlich.

Only Planning Commissioner Tom Dlugosh received votes from all of the City Councilmembers. Former Mayor John Faria received five votes - only Mayor Stephen Cassidy didn't vote for him. Former San Leandro Police officer Charles Kane received four votes - only Councilmembers Michael Gregory and Ursula Reed didn't vote for him. School teacher Dana Chohlis received three votes - from Gregory, Reed, and Cassidy.

Dana ChohlisXXX
Chris Crow
Darlene Daevu
Tom DlugoshXXXXXX
David Erlich
John FariaXXXXX
Charles KaneXXXX
Benny Lee

With nearly all City Council candidates seeking the Alameda County Democratic Party endorsement, City Council candidate Jim Prola made two interesting choices by selecting registered Republicans Kane and Faria. Reed, who is also up for re-election, also selected Faria.

The San Leandro City Council will meet on September 13 to interview the four applicants and decide who will be the next District 4 Councilmember. That person will serve until December 31, 2012.

Posted by Mike Katz-Lacabe at September 4, 2012 9:46 PM | TrackBack
Post a comment

Remember personal info?