June 15, 2012

Michael Gregory Begins Second Term as Vice Mayor

Councilmember Gregory
At the May 7, 2012, meeting of the San Leandro City Council, District 1 Councilmember Michael Gregory was re-elected to the position of Vice Mayor for a second term.

According to the City Charter, "In the absence of the Mayor, the Vice Mayor shall possess and perform the powers and duties of the Mayor." This typically means representing the City and chairing meetings of the City Council in the Mayor's absence.

Councilmember Jim Prola thanked Gregory for serving as Vice Mayor for the past year and made the motion to nominate him, with Councilmember Pauline Cutter seconding the motion.

Reed offered a substitute motion and nominated Councilmember Diana Souza for the Vice Mayor position. Reed explained her nomination by stating that the role was traditionally offered to each one of the council members. Councilmember Joyce Starosciak seconded the motion, "because I believe that, you know, it's her turn. It's time for her to step up into that role." From 2008 to 2010, each Vice Mayor served a single term, but Vice Mayors from 1998 to 2008 each served at least two terms.

Before the vote on the substitute motion, Gregory expressed surprise at the nomination and said, "I'm delighted and flattered to be considered."

Starosciak, Souza and Reed voted for Souza, but Mayor Stephen Cassidy, Cutter, Prola, and Gregory voted against Souza and the substitute motion failed.

Since the substitute motion for Souza as Vice Mayor failed, the City Council proceeded to vote on the original motion for Gregory as Vice Mayor. Starosciak joined Cassidy, Cutter, Prola, and Gregory in voting for Gregory with Reed and Souza abstaining.

Gregory will serve as Vice Mayor until June 2013.

In 2010, Reed was elected Vice Mayor after a failed motion by Gregory to elect Prola Vice Mayor. In 2011, Gregory was elected Vice Mayor. No councilmembers from Districts 3 or 6 have served as Vice Mayor for more than 14 years. Below is a recent history of San Leandro's Vice Mayors:

  • 1998 - Gordon Galvan (District 1)
  • 1999 - Gordon Galvan (District 1)
  • 2000 - Bob Glaze (District 4)
  • 2001 - Bob Glaze (District 4)
  • 2002 - Bob Glaze (District 4)
  • 2003 - Bob Glaze (District 4)
  • 2004 - Orval "OB" Badger (District 1)
  • 2005 - Orval "OB" Badger (District 1)
  • 2006 - Surlene Grant (District 2)
  • 2007 - Surlene Grant (District 2)
  • 2008 - Bill Stephens (District 5)
  • 2009 - Joyce Starosciak (District 4)
  • 2010 - Ursula Reed (District 2)
  • 2011 - Michael Gregory (District 1)
  • 2012 - Michael Gregory (District 1)
Posted by Mike Katz-Lacabe at June 15, 2012 2:58 PM | TrackBack
Post a comment

Remember personal info?