December 30, 2010

Mayor Tony Santos' Second Farewell Address

After making his farewell address at the December 6, 2010, meeting of the San Leandro City Council, outgoing Mayor Tony Santos made a second, longer farewell address at the December 20 City Council meeting.

Santos was first elected as the District 6 representative on the San Leandro City Council in 1984 when he defeated Janet Mohr. In 1988, he ran unopposed for re-election. In 2000, he defeated Diana Rodriguez, Mark Tichy, and Allan Lindsay-O'Neill to take the District 6 City Council seat once again. Santos was re-elected in 2004, defeating Mark Tichy and Wafaa Aborashed. Before the end of his second term, he ran for Mayor and eventually defeated Orval "OB" Badger in a run-off election. In San Leandro's first use of ranked choice voting (RCV or instant runoff) in 2010, Santos lost his bid for re-election to former San Leandro School Board Trustee Stephen Cassidy.

Here is the video of Santos' address:

Mayor Santos' term officially ends at midnight, December 31, 2010. He has served 14 years on the San Leandro City Council and four years as Mayor.

Posted by Mike Katz-Lacabe at December 30, 2010 7:49 AM | TrackBack
Post a comment

Remember personal info?