August 9, 2010

Field of Candidates Nearly Set for November Races

In AC Transit Ward 4, which includes part of San Leandro, Board President Ryan "Rocky" Fernandez did not file to run for re-election and may be replaced by Gavin Wilgus, who was an intern at the Castro Valley Sanitary District. In a statement, Fernandez said, "I feel this is the right time to step aside and, among other things, further my education." Wilgus is the only candidate to have completed his filing at this time.

In AC Transit Ward 3, which includes part of San Leandro, incumbent Elsa Ortiz faces a challenge from Dollene Jones and Nancy Skowbo.

Isobel Dvorsky will automatically get the Chabot-Las Positas Community College District, Trustee Area 2 seat as no challenger submitted paperwork to run for the office. Her name will not appear on the November ballot. The Chabot-Las Positas Community College District is governed by a seven-member board of trustees representing Castro Valley, Dublin, Hayward, Livermore, Pleasanton, San Leandro, San Lorenzo, Sunol and Union City.

For East Bay Municipal Utility District Ward 7, Incumbent Frank Mellon is being challenged by Matt Turner. EBMUD is governed by a seven-member Board of Directors representing Alamo, Blackhawk, Danville, Diablo, Pleasant Hill, San Ramon, Walnut Creek, Oakland, Pinole, Richmond, Albany, Berkeley, Emeryville, El Cerrito, Alameda, San Lorenzo, San Leandro, Crockett, Hercules, Rodeo, Pinole, San Pablo, Hayward, San Ramon, and Castro Valley.

Incumbent Eden Township Healthcare District Director Carole Rogers and at least three challengers will vie for three seats in the November election. The challengers so far are Les Friedman, Susan Reisz, and William West. The five-member at-large Eden Township Healthcare District Board of Directors serves on the governing Board of Directors of Eden Medical Center, which includes San Leandro Hospital, and disperses grants through the Community Health Fund.

Oro Loma Sanitary District Board incumbents Timothy Becker, Howard Kerr, and Frank Sidari face a challenge from former San Leandro Mayor Shelia Young and Larry Johnson. The Oro Loma Sanitary District provides sewage treatment, solid waste, and recycling services to an area of San Leandro and San Lorenzo. The five-member Board of Directors is elected at-large.

The San Lorenzo School Board race will see incumbents Isabel Polvorosa and Helen Randall face challenges from Stacy Santos Blom, Rebecca Olivera, Elliot Schneider, and former San Lorenzo School Board member Gene Judson. The five members of the San Lorenzo School Board are elected at-large.

Former San Leandro Mayor and incumbent State Senator Ellen Corbett faces certain victory in November against Republican/Tea Party candidate Rob Maffit and American Independent candidate Ivan Chou.

Likewise incumbent State Assembly Member Mary Hayashi will handily prevail over Republican college student challenger Michael Havig.

Would-be Pete Stark challenger and Tea Party candidate Chris Pareja did not submit enough signatures to qualify as an independent candidate for the 13th Congressional District seat. Stark, who has held the seat since 1973, will likely be re-elected easily in the heavily Democratic district over Republican challenger Forest Baker.

Note: Updated on August 9 to reflect that the deadline to file for some seats has been extended until August 11 since the incumbent did not file for re-election.

Posted by Mike Katz-Lacabe at August 9, 2010 7:04 AM | TrackBack
Post a comment

Remember personal info?