May 3, 2010

Ursula Reed is new Vice Mayor

After a motion by Councilmember Michael Gregory to elect Councilmember Jim Prola as Vice Mayor failed, Councilmember Ursula Reed was unanimously elected San Leandro's Vice Mayor at the San Leandro City Council meeting on May 3, 2010. Councilmembers Joyce Starosciak, Diana Souza, Bill Stephens, and Reed voted against Gregory's motion, which failed 4 to 3. Stephens then nominated Reed for Vice Mayor and Reed received a unanimous vote.

The Vice Mayor, according to the City Charter, "shall possess and perform the powers and duties of the Mayor." This typically means representing the City when the Mayor cannot and chairing meetings of the City Council in the Mayor's absence.

Until recently, Vice Mayors had served for at least two terms. That ended with the selection of Stephens, who served one year as Vice Mayor. Below is a recent history of San Leandro's Vice Mayors:

  • 2000 - Bob Glaze (District 4)
  • 2001- Bob Glaze (District 4)
  • 2002 - Bob Glaze (District 4)
  • 2003- Bob Glaze (District 4)
  • 2004 - Orval "OB" Badger (District 1)
  • 2005 - Orval "OB" Badger (District 1)
  • 2006 - Surlene Grant (District 2)
  • 2007 - Surlene Grant (District 2)
  • 2008 - Bill Stephens (District 5)
  • 2009 - Joyce Starosciak (District 4)

Posted by Mike Katz-Lacabe at May 3, 2010 10:45 PM | TrackBack
Post a comment

Remember personal info?