April 23, 2008

PACE Endorses Reed, Starosciak, and Clemons for San Leandro City Council

Last week, the Political Action Committee for Excellence (PACE) made its endorsements for San Leandro City Council: Ursula Reed in District 2, Joyce Starosciak in District 4, and Estelle Clemons in District 6. PACE also endorsed Victoria Kolakowski for Alameda County Superior Court Judge. In addition to her endorsement by PACE, Starosciak is also a member of the group.

As noted in a previous story, PACE membership is entirely female and has only contributed to female candidates for local office. [Editor: This story has been edited to correct inaccurate information about the group's bylaws.] The purpose of the group is to get more women elected and involved in civic activities.

In District 4, Starosciak is the only woman running and Kolakowski is the only woman candidate for Superior Court Judge. However, just because there is one woman candidate doesn't guarantee a PACE endorsement. In the 2006 campaign for the District 3 City Council seat, PACE did not endorse the only female candidate, Diana Souza, who went on to win.

The endorsement comes with a financial contribution of $999 to each of the candidate's campaigns.

As of December 31, 2007, PACE had $7,124 in its account. Members of PACE were determined from reviewing its financial disclosures and are listed below. Note that membership may have changed since the most recent financial disclosure in December 2007.

  • Anna Brannan, San Leandro Planning Commissioner
  • Esther Collier, San Leandro Planning Commissioner and former San Leandro School Board Trustee
  • Peggy Combs, Recreation and Parks Commissioner, Development Director for Building Futures with Women and Children
  • Deborah Cox, President of Estudillo Estates Homeowner Assocation, Human Services Commissioner, and Co-Chair of Citizens for San Leandro Schools
  • Isobel Dvorsky, Chabot-Las Positas Community College District Trustee
  • Harriet Engberg, retired
  • Heidi Finberg, former CEO of the San Leandro Chamber of Commerce and Planning Commissioner
  • Katherine Frates, Director of Clinical Services at San Leandro Surgery Center
  • Faith Frazier, Former City Councilmember
  • Surlene Grant, San Leandro City Councilmember
  • Dale Gregory, Director of Broadmoor Preschool and Board Member of Drowning Darryl's
  • Rose Johnson, Executive Director of the Davis Street Family Resource Center and President of the San Leandro Chamber of Commerce
  • Denise Bownds Kaplan, San Leandro Library Historical Commissioner
  • Susan Kleebauer, attorney and former San Leandro Planning Commissioner
  • Alexandra Matteucci-Perkins, Executive Director of the Joseph Matteucci Foundation for Youth Non-Violence
  • Janet Plankenhorn, Former San Leandro School Board Trustee
  • Isabel Polvorosa, computer operator and San Lorenzo School Board Trustee
  • Nancy Pretto, Retired
  • Catherine Ralph, a field work consultant and lecturer at UC Berkeley
  • Pat Raposo, former owner of Broadmoor Electric
  • Diana Souza, San Leandro City Councilmember
  • Joyce Starosciak, San Leandro City Councilmember and former San Leandro School Board Trustee
  • Marie Underwood
  • Dawn Valadez, Development Director for Davis Street Family Resource Center
  • Shelia Young, former San Leandro Mayor
Posted by Mike Katz-Lacabe at April 23, 2008 12:56 AM | TrackBack
Post a comment

Remember personal info?