February 20, 2007

City Council Begins Process of Appointing New Commission Members

Commission appointments are one way that the City Councilmembers can extend their influence and repay campaign donors and supporters. Newly elected Mayor Tony Santos and District 1 Councilmember Michael Gregory are the first to make their appointments, and District 3 Councilmember Diana Souza and newly appointed District 6 Councilmember Jim Prola can be expected to make their appointments in the next few weeks.

With the exception of the Personnel Relations Board and Rent Review Board, each Councilmember can submit the name of the person that they want to appoint to the City Clerk. The City Clerk circulates the name to the City Council and if there are no objections, that person's nomination goes on the City Council agenda for a vote. This is done to avoid a situation in which the City Council might vote against a person's nomination and cause embarrassment for that person. After the City Council approves a nomination, the appointment is placed on a subsequent agenda for City Council approval. Once a nomination makes it on to the City Council agenda, it will likely be approved.

Commission and board members often serve far longer than those who appointed them. Alice Sarafian has served on the Human Services Commission since 1984, Library-Historical Commissioner Donna Reed and BZA member Frank Sidari have served since 1986, and Planning Commissioner Dale Reed has served since 1987. Term limits were briefly implemented in the 1970s when term limits were also enacted for the Mayor and Councilmembers but were subsequently eliminated.

The Board of Zoning Adjustments and the Planning Commission are the most powerful of the boards and commissions and these are generally seen as "plum" appointments. We have included relevant campaign contributions when available.

Board of Zoning Adjustments:

Philip Daly was nominated to replace Gil Raposo as District 1 member. Raposo has served since Oct. 15, 2001, and is the husband of Pat Raposo, owner of Broadmoor Electric. Daly works in the Alameda County District Attorney's office and ran Johan Klehs' first campaign in the 1970s.

Charles Gilcrest was nominated to replace Cynthia Eliason as the At Large Member. Eliason has served since May 1, 1995. Gilcrest served as campaign manager for Tony Santos and served on the Human Services Commission from 2002 to 2006.

Planning Commission:

Dale Reed was renominated as the District 1 Member. Reed has served since May 18, 1987, and is President of The Sentinels, which contributed $2,000 to Santos' campaign and $1,500 to Gregory's campaign.

Marcene Nardine was nominated to replace Susan Kleebauer as At Large Member. Kleebauer has served since March 17, 2003, and previously served on the Library-Historical Commission. Nardine ran for Mayor and lost in the June 2006 election. After the loss, she endorsed Santos. Nardine also contributed $100 to Santos' campaign.

Human Services Commission:

Alice Sarafian's nomination to the Human Services Commission was approved on February 5, 2007, but as one of the At Large positions. Sarafian has served since April 30, 1984, as the District 1 member.

Virginia Boepple is set to replace Joseph Flynn as At Large Member. Flynn had served since November 19, 2001. Boepple is president of the Bonaire Civic League and previously served on the Human Services Commission.

Deborah Cox has been nominated to replace Alice Sarafian as the District 1 member. Cox was co-chair of the Measure A and Measure B committees and is President of the Estudillo Estates Homeowner's Association.

Library-Historical Commission:

Donna Reed has been renominated as District 1 Member. Reed has served since May 5, 1986, and is the wife of Dale Reed (on the Planning Commission).

Frederick A. Reicker's nomination to be re-appointed as the At Large member of the Library-Historical Commission was approved on February 5, 2007. Reicker has served since March 17, 2003.

Personnel Relations Board:

The nominations of William F. Jardin, Michael Munoz and Kent W. Myers were approved on February 5, 2007. Jardin has served since April 17, 2006, Munoz has served since March 1, 1993, and Myers has served since February 20, 2001. Myers contributed $950 to Tony Santos' campaign.

Recreation and Parks Commission:

Ed Shapiro was renominated as the District 1 Member. Shapiro has served since June 3, 1996.

Benny Lee was nominated to replace Elmer Costa as the At Large Member. Costa has served since October 28, 1985.

Senior Commission:

The nominations of George Tucker and Keith Peterson as At Large Members to the Senior Commission were approved on February 5, 2007.

Sandi Forese was renominated as the District 1 Member. Forese has served since March 17, 2003. Forese is the Vice Presient of the Bay-O-Vista Improvement Association.

Barbara Hamrick was renominated as an At Large Member. Hamrick has served since February 19, 2002, and founded Nightingale Nursing in 1987.

Posted by Mike Katz-Lacabe at February 20, 2007 3:57 PM | TrackBack
Post a comment

Remember personal info?