December 6, 2006

New Trustees Sworn in; Richards is new Board President

The December 5, 2006, meeting of the San Leandro School Board started late as the reception for outgoing Trustee Louis Heystek ran a little bit late. Heystek was feted by his fellow Board Members, San Leandro Mayor-Elect Tony Santos, and Alameda County Supervisor Alice Lai-Bitker.

After newly elected and re-elected Board Members Mike Katz-Lacabe, Lisa Hague and Pauline Cutter were sworn in by Alice Lai-Bitker, California State Assemblywoman and Assistant Majority Whip Mary Hayashi said a few words and that she looked forward to working with the new Board.

Student Martin Pena was presented with a Certificate of Commendation for being selected Student of the Month in the Eden Area Regional Occupational Program. Principal Amy Furtado accepted a Certification of Commendation for Juan Lara-Diaz, who was also named Student of the Month.

Certificates of Commendation were presented by San Leandro Adult School Principal Susanne Wong to custodians Darryl Shields, Monroe/Muir; Alberto Lara, Garfield/Muir; Valentin Reyes, Head Custodian, Monroe; Don Biladeau, Glazier; Greg Dyer, Maintenance and Operations Supervisor; and Billy Campbell, Lead Custodian for their quick after-hours work to get the Adult School ready for its official opening in October.

Certificates of Commendation were also presented to John Muir Middle School Principal
Belen Magers, who was not present, and AVID Coordinator Charles Leming, and San Leandro High School Principal Amy Furtado and AVID coordinator Karl Debro, because John Muir Middle School and San Leandro High School were recently selected as AVID Demonstration Sites.

David Lorden, Director of Student Support Services, presented information on suspensions and expulsions, and school site safety plans. Before school started this year, uniform disciplinary procedures were implemented at the middle schools. Lorden noted that suspensions have decreased at John Muir and Bancroft Middle Schools, but have increased at San Leandro High School, compared to the same time last year.

Because of a 30% increase in health insurance, the School District looked for an alternative insurance plan and the Board unanimously approved enrolled in CalPERS Health Plan Program.

The Board also unanimously approved installation of artificial turf for the Bancroft playing field and a Director position to oversee projects funded by Measure B, the $109 million bond approved in November 2006.

The last agenda items of the night were the selection of Board President, Vice President, and Clerk. Rick RIchards was selected as Board President by a vote of 4-3, Stephen Cassidy was selected as Vice President by a vote of 5-2 and Linda Perry was selected as Clerk by a vote of 4-3.

Posted by Mike Katz-Lacabe at December 6, 2006 12:20 AM | TrackBack
Post a comment

Remember personal info?